about us


The Karnataka State Open University was established on 1st June 1996 vide Karnataka Govt,. Notification No. ED 1 UOV 95 dated 12th February 1996, KSOU Act 1992, keeping in view the educational needs of our country in general and the Karnataka State, in particular. It is the Eighth Open University in the country.

The University is an erstwhile Institute of Correspondence Courses of Mysore University and enjoys a unique priviliege of a long and rich experience in the field of Distance Education It is also a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) as well as Commonwealth Universities Association. It is recognized by Distance Education Council (DEC), Ministry of HRD, Government of India. All academic programmes are approved by DEC, New Delhi.

Karnataka State Open University is situated at the North–Western end of the Manasagangotri campus, Mysore. The campus, which is about 5 Kms, from the city centre, has a serene atmosphere ideally suited for academic pursuits. The University houses at present the Administrative Office, Academic Block, Lecture Halls, a well-equipped Library, Guest House Cottages, a Moderate Canteen, Girls Hostel and a few cottages providing limited accommodation to students coming to Mysore for attending the Contact Programmes or Term-end examinations.